Nba Awards Finalists Tile

Newmarket Business Awards 2019 Finalists Announced

Reading Time: 3 Minutes

Newmarket is gearing up to celebrate the best of the best from across its precinct - with bars, cafes, designer retailers, tourism businesses, fitness centres, beauty clinics and more among the finalists announced today for the 2019 Newmarket Business Awards.

This year saw a 20% increase in entries that the rigorous judging process whittled down to an elite group of finalists across 13 categories. The 2019 awards look to be the most competitive in the awards 8 year history.

This year’s independent judging panel, includes some of New Zealand’s most prominent business leaders and influencers.

Among the line-up is Andy Hamilton (Icehouse), Anne Norman (James Pascoe Group), Stewart Sherriff (2degrees), Anthony Hoy Fong (Celebrity Chef), Michael Barnett (Auckland Chamber of Commerce), Sarah Dunn (NZ Retail Magazine and The Register), Wendy Thompson (Socialites), Wynnis Armour (Armour Consulting), and two expert mystery shopper judges.

Sponsor judges include Rachel Dovey from Bayleys, Jacqui Hourigan from FlexiGroup, as well as a panel from Rotary Newmarket.

Newmarket Business Association’s CEO, Mark Knoff-Thomas, says “Newmarket continues to punch above its weight, and the high calibre of entries this year is confirmation that we have some of the best of the best in business. This year we extended the mystery shopper judging component, and have also added a new category ‘Best Night-Time Venue’ – it will be a superb night of celebration.”

The category winners, as well as the People’s Choice and Supreme Winner, will be announced at an awards evening to be held at the Cordis on Friday 7th June.

The awards are proudly sponsored by Bayleys and humm.

Voting for the People’s Choice Award is open until midnight on Sunday 19th May – and votes can be submitted here.

The Newmarket Business Awards 2019 finalists (in alphabetical order):

‘Best Café of the Year’ sponsored by Newmarket Business Association

  • Coffee Club Broadway
  • L'affare Newmarket
  • L’Atelier Du Fromage
  • Sip Kitchen

‘Best Restaurant of the Year’ sponsored by Rialto Centre

  • Flying Burrito Brothers
  • Tasca
  • The Candy Shop

‘Best Night-Time Venue’ sponsored by Newmarket Business Association

  • Burger Burger
  • Movenpick
  • Rialto Cinemas
  • The Claddagh

‘Retailer of the Year’ (NZ only) sponsored by Marley Loft

  • Michael Holmes Premium Eyewear
  • RUBY
  • Scarpa Shoes
  • Superette

‘International Retailer of the Year’ sponsored by Westfield Newmarket

  • Glassons
  • LUSH Cosmetics
  • Witchery 

‘Best Innovation of the Year’ sponsored by Vector

  • Haka Tourism Group (HTG)
  • Kitchen Things Luxury Collection
  • Overland Footwear Group
  • Vxceed Technologies (NZ) Limited

‘Employer of the Year’ sponsored by ANZ

  • Burger Burger
  • Mercury
  • Overland Footwear Group

‘Best Customer Experience’ sponsored by Recognise & Reward

  • Glamour
  • Kitchen Things Luxury Collection
  • Michael Holmes Premium Eyewear
  • Regal Drycleaners

‘Best Small / Medium Business of the Year’ sponsored by 2degrees 

  • Anti Money Laundering Solutions Limited (AML Solutions)
  • Maison Vauron Limited
  • QB Studios
  • Sweat Yoga Limited

‘Best Medium / Large Business of the Year’ sponsored by Multi-Media Systems 

  • Bobux
  • Chinese New Zealand Herald
  • Haka Tourism Group (HTG)
  • Mercury

 ‘Young Business Person of the Year’ sponsored by Rotary Newmarket

  • Eleri Williams – Haka Educational Tours
  • Kate Mitchell – Regal Drycleaning
  • Mandy Tomlinson – Overland Footwear Group
  • Valentin Ozich – I Love Ugly

‘Best use of Social Media’ sponsored by ellen&company

  • Burger Burger
  • RUBY
  • Skin Ritual

‘Most Sustainable Business of the Year’ sponsored by Chow:Hill Architects Limited

  • Barkers
  • Haka Tourism Group (HTG)
  • LUSH Cosmetics
  • Movenpick