2022 Newmarket Business Awards Finalists Announced

Newmarket is gearing up to celebrate the best from across its precinct – with bars, cafes, accountants, fashion designers, beauty clinics, fitness centres and more among the finalists announced today for the 2022 Newmarket Business Awards.

The rigorous judging process whittled down entries to an elite group of finalists across 12 categories. The 2022 awards look to be the most competitive in the awards 10 year history.  

The independent judging panel, includes some of New Zealand’s most prominent business leaders and influencers. Among the line-up is Anne Norman (James Pascoe Group), Stewart Sherriff (Former CEO 2degrees), Anthony Hoy Fong (Celebrity Chef), Cameron Bagrie (Bagrie Economics), Kelly Bennett (One Plus One), Koro Dickinson (Poutama Trust), Elena Kim (PWC), Michelle Vogt (Mint Consulting), Wynnis Armour (Armour Consulting), and four expert mystery shopper judges. 

Sponsor judges include Jacqui Hourigan from humm, as well as a panel from Rotary Newmarket. 

Newmarket Business Association’s CEO, Mark Knoff-Thomas, says “Newmarket is roaring back into life after a bumpy couple of years. The high calibre of entries this year is confirmation, once again, that we have some of the best of the best in business. In some categories we had over of 20 entries – it was a tough gig for the judges. It is always a superb celebration, and a night for Newmarket to stand proud.” 

The category winners, as well as the People’s Choice, Newmarket Legend Award and the Supreme Winner, will be announced at the awards evening to be held at Cordis on Friday 1st July 2022.

The awards are proudly sponsored by humm. 

The Newmarket Business Awards 2022 finalists (in alphabetical order):

‘Best Café of the Year’
L’affare Newmarket
Leafe Cafe
Luna Bakehouse 
Newbie Café
‘Best Restaurant of the Year’ 
Pearl Garden
Safran Café
V.T. Station 
White & Wong’s Newmarket
‘Best Night-Time Venue’ sponsored by Platform 4 Group
Sardine Newmarket
Something & Social 
The Lumsden Freehouse
Timezone Newmarket
‘Retailer of the Year’ NZ sponsored by SBM Legal
Elle +  Riley Cashmere
flo & frankie
Smith & Caughey’s
‘International Retailer of the Year’ sponsored by Westfield Newmarket
David Jones
Country Road Newmarket
LUSH Newmarket
‘Best Innovation of the Year’ sponsored by Match Realty
AMLHUB anti-money laundering software 
Kowtow Clothing Ltd
Standard Issue
The Car Store
‘Employer of the Year’ sponsored by ANZ
BetterCo Advisory & Accounting
Smith & Caughey’s
‘Best Customer Experience’ sponsored by Recognise & Reward
BetterCo Advisory & Accounting
Elle +  Riley Cashmere
Plumbline Showroom 
Standard Issue
‘Best Small / Medium Business of the Year’ sponsored by 2degrees 
AML HUB anti-money laundering software 
Alliott NZ Ltd
EmbroidMe Newmarket 
 ‘Young Business Person of the Year’ sponsored by Rotary Newmarket
Alister Siew  – BetterCo Advisory & Accounting
Elle Pugh – Elle + Riley Cashmere
Grant Elliott – Locals Streetwear NZ
Holly Bennett – Awhi
Olivia McIver – Soda Digital 
‘Best use of Social Media’ sponsored by Multi-Media Systems Ltd
BFT Newmarket
LUSH Newmarket
Skin Ritual 
‘Most Sustainable Business of the Year’ sponsored by Chow:Hill Architects Ltd
Kowtow Clothing Ltd
LUSH Newmarket
Standard Issue

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top