2016 Newmarket Business Award - WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Jun 18 2016

2016 Newmarket Business Award – WINNERS ANNOUNCED


On Friday 17th June members of the Newmarket business community celebrated at their annual business awards hosted by the Newmarket Business Association (NBA) at the Auckland War Memorial Museum, with major sponsors Bayleys and Auckland City BMW.

This year’s expert judging panel included Wynnis Armour (AWF, Armour Consulting), Jayne Atherton (Fairfax), Michael Barnett (Auckland Chamber of Commerce), Rachel Dovey (Bayleys), Ian Gibson (Auckland City BMW), Andrew Hamilton (Icehouse), Anthony Hoy Fong (Chef), Anne Norman (Pascoes Group), Professor Andrew Parsons (AUT) and Stewart Sherriff (2Degrees). Guest speaker for the night was New York-based Kiwi Derek Handley, social entrepreneur and founder of Aera Foundation.

NBA’s CEO, Mark Knoff-Thomas said, “Once again it was a superb night – every year our awards give us the opportunity to reflect on what we have on offer in Newmarket. There was such a warm sense of community and pride. It was a lot of fun, a giant celebration and was delivered in typical Newmarket style.”

Ian Gibson co-sponsor, and Managing Director of Auckland City BMW commented, “All of the finalists will be very proud in achieving the recognition on this great occasion, it was a fantastic evening and all awards were well deserved so congratulations to all.”

Fellow co-sponsor Rachel Dovey, Regional Manager at Bayleys added, “It was such an inspirational night, with the great leaders who run the businesses that make Newmarket the amazing place it is.”
The Newmarket Business Awards Winners for 2016:  

‘Employer of the Year’ sponsored by ANZ – Kathryn Wilson Footwear

‘Retailer of the Year’ sponsored by Rightway – Michael Holmes Premium Eyewear

‘International Retailer of the Year’ sponsored by Westfield Newmarket – Overland Footwear Company

‘Best Innovation of the Year’ sponsored by Vector – Les Mills Newmarket

‘Best Customer Experience’ sponsored by Retain Consulting – Cali All Day Eatery

‘Best Bar / Restaurant of the Year’ sponsored by Newmarket Business Association – Burger Burger

‘Best Café of the Year’ sponsored by Newmarket Business Association – Altezano Espresso

‘Best Small / Medium Business of the Year’ sponsored by 2degrees – 101 Fitness

‘Best Medium / Large Business of the Year’ sponsored by Multi-Media Systems – Metlifecare

‘Young Business Person of the Year’ sponsored by Newmarket Rotary – Mimi Gilmour

‘Most Sustainable Business of the Year’ sponsored by Auckland Museum – Burger Burger

‘Newmarket People’s Choice Award 2016’ – Glamour Boutique

‘Newmarket Supreme Winner 2016’ sponsored by Bayleys and Auckland City BMW – Burger Burger


Now in their fifth year, the Newmarket Business Awards celebrates business excellence and aims to recognise businesses that are maximising their potential and have mastered the art of delivering excellent products and services in the Newmarket area.


For more information please contact:
Portia Campbell
Phone: 09 529 3047



About the Newmarket Business Association

The Newmarket Business Association was incorporated in 1937. It is one of the largest business associations of its type in New Zealand. The association delivers strategies to promote the precinct and advocates on behalf of all the business sectors within the defined boundary.


Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message